Router Hacking

MaybeNo [maybeno]
9 years ago

I havnt seen any place on this site for this, so I thought I would start a thread. I dont know much about it, but it’s one of the things on my list to learn. So I guess this is the new unoffical place to talk about any router buisness

9replies
5voices
233views
2images
michael.vanstaden9208
9 years ago

Glad I stumbled upon this thread

being very curious and all, Ive always wondered if its possible to remotely log in to a unsuspecting victims router, be it via console or web?
say for instance I have my friends public/wan IP (provided by ISP) can I use this to somehow change/alter settings on his router, and possibly setup port forwarding to access his internal network e.g. PC?

Any thoughts/ tips on this?

michael.vanstaden9208
9 years ago

Should probably mention, i work as a junior technical engineer for an ISP, and have some understanding of what happens in the router interface.

MaybeNo [maybeno]
9 years ago

Hate to see no more activity here.

f0VM
9 years ago

Ok, I assume you are talking about home routers.

In this case security is not that strong and there are a lot of possibilities:

[list=1]
[] Router web management interface is available via internet:
a. Usually it would be on non-default port. So, you have to find this port first . It’s easy to get all open ports with help of nmap. Then just check all of them to find web management interface.
b. Brute force credentials.
[
] Publicly known back door in the router:
Examples: https://www.google.com/search?q=home+router+backdoor
[] SNMP with RW rights and well known community string:
Usually SNMP is used on enterprise networking equipment, however, sometimes it could be found on a home routers as well.
If you know SNMP community string (works as a password), you can change router configuration.
[
] CSRF attacks targeting user inside a network:
In this case requests to a router will originate from trusted IP.