user agent as a security feature?

kifkaf
5 years ago

hi guys,
I’m a newbie in the web security field.
I have developed website in .net core.
for user management i use .net Identity.

i want to restrict the access to the login page of the back end as much as possible.

I already have a country based IP filtering which narrows down the access to the login page, but this can probably by bypassed if a hacker will use a proxy?
and besides anyone from my country can load the login page if they will get the correct url.

do you recommend using a customized user_agent as a security feature for the BackEnd of a website or is this an overkill?

6replies
3voices
247views
dloser
5 years ago

“i want to restrict the access … as much as possible.” In that case, just don’t put the site online. ;)

Both IP and user agent filtering can indeed be circumvented, but might require someone who has access to figure out how to. This depends on how well you implement it. For example, giving a message “only IPs from X are allowed” makes it kind of obvious, but also bad input filtering might allow someone to cause the site to give unintended feedback.

It does seem overkill, but it also depends on what exactly you need and what you can require from your users.

If you don’t want people to find the site, consider making it available only through a subdomain that is not the default domain for the webserver or through something like Tor.

If you want make sure only specific people can use the site and you can require them to put in some effort, then you might want to consider using client SSL certificates.

That said, whatever you do, you can’t really protect against people sharing the site with others or be certain that there are no ways to circumvent any of your protections. It is always a balance.

kifkaf
5 years ago

@dloser here is some more information about what i’m asking: