What anyone should know before they say they want to be a hacker

crua9
7 years ago

So, every so often on my YouTube channel I get asked questions by people who want to become “hackers”. The latest one asked me this in a AMA on reddit.

https://www.reddit.com/r/IAmA/comments/4nndlo/iama_craig_at_tech_reviews_and_help_ama/

I ended up making a video on it, but I’m putting a copy and paste of what was said in here. Anyone who does currently work in this, please let me know if you agree with me.

Question: [quote=]I’m looking to get into hacking, I’ve watched a few of your videos and I am all over the place with wire shark and cain and Abel. I need lots of help, I’m a very big beginner, do you recommend any sources that’ll get me learning how to learn how to hack quickly?[/quote]

My answer: [quote=]Hacking is pretty complex, and it’s really more of a general term. Think of hacking as cooking. Depending on what you cook, what each person likes, and so on. This depends on what skill, tool, and so on it takes. For example, if I was to make ice cream, I most likely wouldn’t use a grill to make it. Also some dishes really require personal experience to know when you have it right. But you wouldn’t make a dish for no reason.
The same applies with hacking. Hacking a website, some software, a person, or a network really depends on what tool, and skill you use. Even if you have the right skills and tools. You really wouldn’t hack something without a reason.
It sounds like you’re trying to get into network hacking. If so, I highly advice you to know the OSI model, and to know exactly what layer does what. I have a video that covers that (I had to learn it for my CCNA stuff).
If you are going to get into this or anything else in computers. You need to pick up some skills in research. (If you are going to go into hacking (legal or not) you need to pick up skills in social engineering)