Learning Java!

BlackVikingPro
7 years ago

Hey guys, I am now the Team Captain (President) of our school’s UIL Computer Science group! I am very excited to learn and interact with my fellow peers at tackling challenges involving Computer Science and Programming. However, I seem to have a small problem I need some feedback on!

I understand that the UIL Computer Science Championships involve programming in the Java language. Which, is yet another object-orientated language. Now I am still new to Java, but not really new to object-orientated languages. I have a small understanding of C#. Which, looking at the syntax of Java, it’s not too much different from C#. They still have “methods” and “classes”, as well as defining variables as things like “boolean”, “string”, “int”, “double”, etc….

Well, I feel like I can probably learn or catch on quickly, the Java language; though other members of my club (only a few) are not that tech savvy (don’t forget, I am living in the country (and back-woods) :P). My fellow team mates do wish to learn and study in the relative fields though, and they are all fast learners (so I’m sure teaching them what I know won’t be hard). Though what are some great educational platforms for learning Java? I’d think like Codecademy or Khan Academy right? Remember, I have about 1 month to teach them at least the basics!