Any J programmers?

Chloranthy
7 years ago

I was wondering if there are any J programmers out there like me? I don’t know all that many.
If so, what made you learn that language? :D

If you don’t know what J is, read about it here:
http://www.jsoftware.com/

6replies
5voices
209views
dloser
7 years ago

Yeah, not sure there are many out there that know that kind of language. Most programming courses are more focused on software engineering, where these languages are perhaps less suited. ;)

But perhaps you can tell us why you learned it and why others should too?

tl0tr
7 years ago | edited 7 years ago

Wow, when you said J software before in the other thread I thought you meant Java but this is something completely different.

Thanks for sharing the link and do let ua know why you choose this language.

Chloranthy

Haha thank you for being the first ones to humor me :D

I’ve had about 3-4 years of experience with the J language and I’ve actually come to quite love a few things about the language:

1) I feel that the terseness of the syntax allows me to think through problem to ms more effectively. Being able to add up all the numbers from 1 to 10 with a simple+/@:>:@:i. 10 (>: = > : Damn J-hating emojis).
is unimaginably fun. While I certainly understand the appeal of conventional languages when doing group work (J code tends to have an inverse relationship between code quality and code readability), it is my go-to language when I’m doing things by myself.
2) I like the logic behind the J language. When approaching programming problems in J, you have to have less of a “loop based” logic system and more of a “table-based” or “array-based” logic system. It’s hard to articulate what I mean in a very concrete way, and this is all purely based on my own, fallible experience.
3) Even more on problem solving, I feel like J lets me spend less time “coding” and more time “programming.” ;)